Sun, 03 Jul 2022

DAERA Minister Edwin Poots MLA, today announced that he has extended the appointment of Gerard McGivern, Chair, and four members of the Board of Livestock and Meat Commission, Mr. Harry Sinclair, Ms. Oonagh Chesney, Mr. Jim Lennon and Mr. Gerry Maguire, for a period of three months.

The extended terms take effect from 7 May 2022, and will ensure the LMC Board remains functional with the appropriate retention of experience and skills, until a new Chair and Board members can be appointed from the public appointment competition which is currently underway to fill the positions.

This decision has been made in accordance with the Commissioner for Public Appointments' Code of Practice.  Mr. McGivern was first appointed as Chair on 7 November 2015. Mr. Harry Sinclair, Ms. Oonagh Chesney and Mr. Jim Lennon were first appointed as Board members on 1 July 2015. Mr. Gerry Maguire was first appointed as a Board member on 22 October 2015.

More Belfast News

Access More

Sign up for Belfast News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!