Thu, 02 Feb 2023

New Parole Commissioners for Northern Ireland announced.

Northern Ireland Executive
09 Dec 2022, 22 GMT+10

Four new members have been appointed to the Parole Commissioners for Northern Ireland.

Ciaran McQuillan and Diane Nixon are appointed as Legal Commissioners. Deepak Anand and Dr Kate Geraghty are appointed as Psychology Commissioners.

As an independent body, the Parole Commissioners' role is to make decisions on the release or otherwise of those serving extended or indeterminate sentences, and in relation to the revocation of licences and recall to prison in cases where an offender is subject to post custody supervision.

Richard Pengelly CB, Permanent Secretary, Department of Justice said: "These new appointments will add to the collective wealth of knowledge and experience of the Parole Commissioners and I want to wish them well in their new roles." 

 These appointments bring the complement of serving commissioners to 37.

More Belfast News

Access More

Sign up for Belfast News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!